Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping

Substitution re-entry

QUESTION: Hi, My question is regarding subs and re-entry during ITB.
We went into International Tie Breaker. My catcher was last up.  I subbed in a fast runner from the bench.

The next inning I went to re-enter my catcher and they said that any substitutions in the International Tie Breaker inning cannot be re-entered. The ump went along with it.

I can't find a reference to that anywhere in the ASA rule book.

Is this a valid rule or was I fooled.
Thanks for any light you could shed on this.

ANSWER: Hi Rich,

It's just called the Tie-Breaker Rule

"I can't find a reference to that anywhere in the ASA rule book."

because it doesn't exist!!!!  Next time someone wants a rule you've never heard of enforced, and the umpire goes along (I have no idea why they would do that...very poor umpiring)....protest, a mis-application of the playing rules, you'll either get it solved right then by the LD, TD or UIC or you protect yourself if you lose the game.


---------- FOLLOW-UP ----------

QUESTION: Thanks for the quick answer.  One more question about re-entry in general.  If I put a sub in and then take her out can I re-enter her back into the same position? ASA rule 4-5 seems to indicate that I can.  However, I have been told at games that only a starter can re-enter. I know in college that is true.  Thanks Again

Hi Rich,
thanks for the kind eval,

sure, a starter and their sub can each "re-enter" once

#1 starts, 2 subs for 1, 1 re-enters for 2, 2 now re-enters for 1 and 1 is out of the game.  #3 for 2, 2 is now out, 4 for 3, 3 for 4, etc....as long as you have the players.


Copyright © www.mycheapnfljerseys.com Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved