does the other team get a touchdown?
Question
if a player mistakenly runs the ball into the other teams end-zone does it count as a touch down forthe opposite team?
Answer
It counts as a safety because the impetus for the ball moving into the end zone and being downed with a player from that team providing the impetus. From the NFL digest of Rules, examples of safeties:
"(b) Ball carrier retreats from field of play into his own end zone and is downed. Ball carrier provides impetus."
Hope that helps Joe.
bllitzes
3-4, 4-3 OVER